As I’ve said before in my past article, So You Want to Write a Novel – A Brief Overview of 7 Key Elements, everybody has a story inside of them that they want to share with the world. So why isn’t everybody writing a book? Below is a list of 13 terrible reasons why people choose to not write their story, and my response to those claims.

  1. “No one will buy my books.” – even if you start with only a few people, SOMEONE will buy your book. A friend or family member who wants to help you out. Or make friends with another author, do them a solid by buying and promoting their book and watch the favor be returned.
  2. “I don’t have the time to write.” – If you can set aside 15-30 minutes every day, you can have enough content for a book in a year. If only 4 days a week, in two years you’ve got your content. No excuses!
  3. “My writing isn’t very good.” – If you get the content out, an editor can help you turn it into a good piece of writing. While being a good speller, knowing grammar, and having an eloquence with words is a great help, a lack of those does not need to keep you from writing a book. Lean on others when you must.
  4. “I don’t know how to write a book.” – Well then, I guess you’re in the right place! This blog will cover how to write a book so follow my blog, read the articles, and share it with your friends!
  5. “Only a few people make money from being an author.” – Good. Then be one of those few. It is slow starting out, but as you build up momentum you can start to make some money. Perhaps not billions of dollars, but if you make any profits, wasn’t it worth it?
  6. “I can’t come up with good stories.” – Translation: “I haven’t yet come up with a good story.” That’s where collaboration can help. Not that you need to write a story with someone else, but another author prodding you and picking your brain can help bring out ideas you never even knew existed!
  7. “People will judge my writing based on famous authors and I will fall short.” – Sure they will! Just be happy that they are putting your name in the same sentence as Rowling, King, Martin.
  8. “I don’t have the support I need.” – There are some great Facebook groups that can give you the support you need. Or check with the library and see if there are any local writing groups.
  9. “I don’t have the money to pay for publishing.” – My costs have been approximately $50, and that was on my cover art. And that was given as a gift from my dad. Self-publishing is a very reasonable way to put out a novel. I’ll cover that in this blog as well!
  10. “No traditional publisher will pick me up.” – As I mentioned, there’s always self-publishing. Both have their ups and downs.
  11. “I don’t know how to market a book.” – Welcome to the club! But we learn as we go. Through other authors that I’ve become friends with I’ve seen what works for them and will be using those techniques to market my books.
  12. “I never finish projects that I start.” – That was me for 38 years! Then in 2013 I changed my mind. I decided, “Hmm, let’s finish something for once.” So I did. And it was a brand new beginning! This blog will give you tips for pressing on, and writing groups can help with that as well.
  13. “I don’t know what I’d write.” – Talk to me. Together we’ll choose something. I’ll draw it out of you and send you along with an idea and a plan!

In my opinion, these are not reasons so much as excuses. Over the years I’ve clung to at least 9 of these, and more! It’s all part of maturing as a writer to overcome these mindsets and producing the novel you’ve always wanted to tell!

How about you? If you’re putting off writing what is your excuse? Or if you are a writer, which of these hurdles have you overcome? Share in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

